Posted in books, reviews

The List – Book Review

The List by Joanna Bolouri is a comedy book which is written in a diary format and follows a woman named Phoebe who, after breaking up with her ex Alex, has created a list of ten things she’s always wanted to do in bed.

My favourite character in it was Phoebe, she was just so funny and some of the things she came out with were unbelievable, though I did find her somewhat vulgar at times but I still thought she was a pretty good character and one I found myself rooting for. The characters felt very real to me, as soon as I picked up the book and started reading, I felt like I knew them. This is story that will leave you staying up at night just to see what happens next.

My favourite part of the book was when Oliver admitted that he loved Phoebe. That was one part that I found myself re-reading even after I finished the book. I found that the sex scenes were written very well, there wasn’t too much detail and there wasn’t enough detail, it was just right. I also thought the relationships were written very well, it didn’t feel fake or people who are just in love, they actually had emotions.

The story itself was very funny. I found myself laughing one moment and crying the next but overall had me laughing like loon through most of it.

I found difficult though to care about some of the characters. I just felt like not enough emotion went into them and I wish they were more thought of. I did find myself getting confused with the characters now and again.

Overall I liked this book and would defiantly recommend it to anyone who likes Bridget Jones or their romcoms. I will defiantly be reading more from this author.

RATING: 4 STARS

Author:

Hello my name is Ellie, I am recovering from mental health problems and this site is what is keeping me going, I like movies, tv shows, books, theatre, writing, crochet and also drawing.

Leave a Reply

