Posted in cinema, movie, reviews

The Light Between Oceans – Movie Review

The light between oceans a romantic period drama, based on the book of the same name, is about a Lighthouse keeper (Michael Fassbender) and his wife (Alicia Vikander) who find a boat washed up on their shore with a baby inside.

I loved this film, it’s one of the best period drama films I have seen in a while and the story is very interesting and makes me now want to read the book. The story is very powering and left me feeling emotional.

Michael Fassbender’s performance is his greatest yet. Oscar winner Alicia Vikander doesn’t hold anything back with her performance and her chemistry with Michael Fassbender is very authentic as they seem to get a glint in their eyes.

The music composed by Alexandre Desplat, really sets the tone for each scene. I found myself being relaxed one minute and crying the next. I loved the scenery for each scene too and the opening credits are just beautiful.

There was only two things I didn’t like about the film was that I found it to be slow at the start and bits in between as well and I found some of the scenes to be really upsetting especially the two miscarriage scenes. I also noticed a big mistake with the Lighthouse.

Overall I liked story and I would defiantly go to see this film twice and read the book.

RATING: 4 STARS

Author:

Hello my name is Ellie, I am recovering from mental health problems and this site is what is keeping me going, I like movies, tv shows, books, theatre, writing, crochet and also drawing.

Leave a Reply

