Posted in cinema, movie, reviews

A United Kingdom – Movie Review

A United Kingdom is the true story Seretse Khama (David Oyelowo), who is a prince, and the whole film is about the trails and rejection he faces from his tribe and his uncle when he marries Ruth Williams (Rosamund Pike) a white woman.

I knew nothing about Seretse Khama or Ruth Williams until I watched this film and I loved it. I understood everything that was going on and nothing was too confusing. The flow of the story goes at a good pace. I came out of the cinema wanting to know more about the story. I liked how Ruth and were both facing the same trails together.

Image result for a united kingdom

The relationship between David Oyelowo and Rosamund Pike is very real. It didn’t feel fake or superficial. David Oyelowo performance is one of his best to date and will not fail to move you. Rosamund Pike defiantly shines in this, which I think is her best to date.

The director does not fail to continue  to amaze us with his very well crafted story telling or his cinematography. He doesn’t hold anything back with the drama and it definitely works with this film. I walked into this film thinking it was going to be like Romeo and Juliet, how wrong was I. This film is very moving and everyone should see it.

There wasn’t one thing I didn’t like about this film. It’s a must see.

RATING: 5 STARS

Author:

Hello my name is Ellie, I am recovering from mental health problems and this site is what is keeping me going, I like movies, tv shows, books, theatre, writing, crochet and also drawing.

2 thoughts on “A United Kingdom – Movie Review

Leave a Reply

