Posted in books, reviews

To Kill A Mocking Bird – Book Review

To Kill A Mocking Bird is a classic novel written by Harper Lee. It’s set in southern America in the fictional town of Maycomb. It tells the story of Atticus Finch, through the eyes of his youngest child Scout, as he prepares to defend a black man who has been accused of rape by a 19-year-old white woman.

I tried reading this book a while ago but just couldn’t get into it, I left it for a while and then picked it up and read it again and I am so glad I did. I loved the story, it’s something very different from the other books like this I have read. I loved how story was told from a child’s POV because there’s something very innocent in that. I also loved how Scout and her brother Jem both grow up in the book.

One other thing I loved about the story was that there was another story to it, the whole rape storyline is main one but the other storyline is where Jem, Dill and Scout are all trying to get the reclusive Boo Radley out of his house and when Scout finally gets to meet him, she realises that he’s isn’t what people said he is, I loved how she found out that he was a nice man.

The other thing that surprised me about this book was the moral of the story, which is basically don’t judge people until you’ve walked in their shoes. That in a weird way shocked me at the end when I was just thinking about the book. A simple lesson is basically the whole story.

There are characters that are for everyone in this book. Some I loved and others I hated with a passion. Atticus has to be one of my favourite characters, he knows right from wrong and he is one fictional that I find inspirational. I also loved Scout in the way that she is innocent and trying to understand the world around her.

There wasn’t anything that I didn’t like about this book. I would definitely put on my bookshelf. This book a definite must read.

RATING: 5 STARS

Author:

Hello my name is Ellie, I am recovering from mental health problems and this site is what is keeping me going, I like movies, tv shows, books, theatre, writing, crochet and also drawing.

2 thoughts on “To Kill A Mocking Bird – Book Review

  1. Great review! I also write book reviews, but mainly over nonfiction.

    I really like nonfiction because it allows me to learn the lessons that successful people learned the hard way, from the comfort of where ever I might be reading.

    If you are interested in the nonfiction I have been reading, or if you want to know what the benefits are from reading this genre in specific, please stop by my page. I post book reviews over biographies, classics, and inspiring nonfiction.

    https://thewrightread.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

