Posted in movie, reviews

Kong: Skull Island – Movie Review

RUNNING TIME: 2HRS

AGE RATING: 12A

CAST: Tom Hiddleston, Samuel L. Jackson, John C. Reilly, John Goodman.

Kong: Skull Island is a giant monster epic featuring the ape that is known as King Kong. The movie is set in the 70s and follows a group of people recruited by a secret agency called Monarch to head to an island nicknamed ‘Skull Island’ to investigate a series of strange monstrous attacks on the island.

Now I’ve seen my fair share of King Kong films, my favourite being the 1933 movie and my least favourite being the 2005 remake; if you asked me where I would place this film, it would be my second favourite King Kong film.

The story is very easy to follow but I found myself getting the distracted by the action scenes (I think more work went into the action scenes than the story itself). For me there was an excellent story there that could have been expanded upon.

The actors don’t come any better with the likes of Tom Hiddleston, Oscar winner Brie Larson and has legendry actors like Samuel L. Jackson, John Goodman, and John C. Reilly. Tom Hiddleston never fails to impress with his action acting chops and Brie Larson has really cemented herself as an action actress.

The CGI blew me away, the detail that went into King Kong was very impressive; it was like looking at a huge gorilla. The camera work is excellent, especially the scene where we first seen King Kong’s shadow against the backdrop of a low sun. The soundtrack was one of the best I’ve heard for an action film, it defitanly gave it that 70s army feel.

The only thing I didn’t like about this film was I found myself losing track of the story because of the amount of action scenes in it, they were very distracting.

Overall it was a very good film, I would recommend it to anyone who loves their big monster movies or loves King Kong (as they are a few Easter eggs to keep an eye out for). And be sure to stay for that epic after credits scene.

RATING: 4 STARS

I would warn parents who are thinking on taking their young children to see it. Be warned some of the fight scenes in it can be a bit graphic (some made me squirm and one made me feel sick) and there is a lot of gore in this.

 

Author:

Hello my name is Ellie, I am recovering from mental health problems and this site is what is keeping me going, I like movies, tv shows, books, theatre, writing, crochet and also drawing.

One thought on “Kong: Skull Island – Movie Review

Leave a Reply

