Posted in books, reviews

Mother Tongue – Book Review

Mother Tongue is a young adult novel written by Julie Mayhew, it’s set in Russia and the story is told from the point of view of a girl named Darya Ivanova, who is more like a mother to her little sister, Nika, than her big sister. But when a tragedy strikes involving her younger sister strikes, Darya decides to leave home but is she leaving her heart behind?

I didn’t think I would like this book as much as I thought I would, as soon as I read the first three chapters I was hooked from start to finish. I loved the story and when I was reading it, I felt like I was in Russia.

I loved the characters and how they contrasted against each other. I loved the relationship between Jonathan and Darya and I was hoping that they would end up together.

The character descriptions I loved, like the way Julie Mayhew described Darya’s mother as being like a ghost when we first meet her.

The only thing I didn’t like was I thought more story could have gone into Darya’s relationship with some of the characters especially her father.

But overall I really enjoyed this book, I would recommend to any young adult out there. This is most defiantly an epic read.

RATINIG: 5 STARS.

Author:

Hello my name is Ellie, I am 17 years and I like movies, tv shows, books, theatre, writing, crochet and also drawing.

Leave a Reply

